To content

IFS Virtual Keynote Series

The Center for Research on Education and School Development (IFS) at TU Dortmund University organizes the IFS Virtual Keynote Series, an event that is internationally oriented and dedicated to significant topics in empirical educational research.

In 2022, the IFS Virtual Keynote Series was devoted to topics of great importance to empirical educational research: Innovations for Instructional Design and Interventions that Support Students' Academic Success. The event took place online via Zoom.

Renowned international researchers presented their research findings in these areas and were available for subsequent discussion. The aim was to shed light on the topics in an interdisciplinary manner. In addition, different theoretical approaches as well as methodological approaches were presented and different research findings on the main topics were compiled.

We are looking forward to next year with a new IFS Virtual Keynote!

Logo Virtual Keynote Series mit Bildschirm und Wlan-Symbol

Program

The detailed program is available for download here.

24th January
03:15 - 05:45 p.m.

Innovations for Instructional Design

Designing Advanced Learning Technologies to Capture Multimodal Real-Time Self-Regulated Learning Processes

Opportunities for Educational Research Born of a Long-Running Partnership with a Mathematics Learning Platform

 

Prof. Roger Azevedo, PhD
(University of Central Florida)

Asst. Prof. Teya Rutherford, PhD (University of Delaware)
31st January
03:15 - 05:45 p.m.

Interventions that Support Students' Academic Success

Promoting Motivation and Performance in Gateway STEM Classes with Value Interventions: Challenges and New Directions

What We Learned from 10 Years of Mindset Intervention Research?

 


Prof. Judy Harackiewicz, PhD (University of Wisconsin)


Assoc. Prof. David Yeager, PhD (University of Texas)

Cafeteria menus

Location & approach

The most convenient highway exits are on the B 1/A 40 (Dortmund-Barop) (closer to the North Campus) and on the A45 (Dortmund-Eichlinghofen). The university is signposted at both exits. In the local road network you will find signs to Campus Nord, where the Campus Treff is also located. From Emil-Figge-Strasse, entrance no. 18 and from Vogelspothsweg entrance no. 23 lead to parking spaces near the venue.

From Dortmund main station, take the S-Bahn "S1" in the direction of Solingen on track 7 to the stop "Dortmund-Universität" (price level A). The S-Bahn runs every 15 minutes during peak hours on weekdays and takes about 6 minutes. From Düsseldorf, the S-Bahn runs every 30 minutes. Directly at the S-Bahn station you will find the CDI building, which houses the Center for Research on Education and School Development.

One of the university's landmarks is the H-Bahn, which has two terminuses on the North Campus. One is located directly above the S-Bahn station and is easily accessible from it by elevators. The other is located in the center of Campus North at the bridge between the University Library and the Mensa, right next to the Audimax. The H-Bahn runs from here to the South Campus and the Eichlinghofen district.

Dortmund has an airport connected with some destinations in Central Europe. There are regular flights, for example, to Amsterdam, Berlin, Dresden, Katowice, Krakow, Leipzig-Halle, London, Munich, Nuremberg, Paris, Poznan, Stuttgart, Vienna and Zurich. For the approximately 20 kilometers from the Dortmund airport to the campus, you can take the bus to the main train station and from there the S-Bahn. Faster is usually the use of a cab. Far more international flight connections are offered by the Rhine-Ruhr Airport in Düsseldorf, about 60 kilometers away, which can be reached directly by S-Bahn from the university station.

Zum Inhalt

IFS Virtual Keynote Series

Das Institut für Schulentwicklungsforschung (IFS) an der TU Dortmund organisiert mit der IFS Virtual Keynote Series eine Veranstaltung, die international ausgerichtet ist und sich bedeutenden Themen der empirischen Bildungsforschung widmet.

Die IFS Virtual Keynote Series widmete sich 2022 den für die empirische Bildungsforschung sehr bedeutsamen Themen: Innovations for Instructional Design und Interventions that Support Students' Academic Success. Die Veranstaltung fand online via Zoom statt.

Renommierte internationale Forscherinnen und Forscher stellten ihre Forschungsergebnisse zu diesen Bereichen vor und standen für eine anschließende Diskussion zur Verfügung. Ziel war es, die Themen interdisziplinär zu beleuchten. Darüber hinaus wurden verschiedene theoretische Ansätze sowie methodische Herangehensweisen vorgestellt und unterschiedliche Forschungsbefunde zu den Oberthemen zusammengetragen.

Wir freuen uns auf das nächste Jahr mit einer neuen IFS Virtual Keynote!

Logo Virtual Keynote Series mit Bildschirm und Wlan-Symbol

Programm

Die vollständige Programmübersicht finden Sie hier zum Download.

24. Januar
15:15 - 17:45 Uhr

Innovations for Instructional Design

Designing Advanced Learning Technologies to Capture Multimodal Real-Time Self-Regulated Learning Processes

Opportunities for Educational Research Born of a Long-Running Partnership with a Mathematics Learning Platform

 

Prof. Roger Azevedo, PhD
(University of Central Florida)

Asst. Prof. Teya Rutherford, PhD (University of Delaware)
31. Januar
15:15 - 17:45 Uhr

Interventions that Support Students' Academic Success

Promoting Motivation and Performance in Gateway STEM Classes with Value Interventions: Challenges and New Directions

What We Learned from 10 Years of Mindset Intervention Research?

 


Prof. Judy Harackiewicz, PhD (University of Wisconsin)


Assoc. Prof. David Yeager, PhD (University of Texas)

Anfahrt & Lageplan

Die günstigsten Autobahnabfahrten finden Sie auf der B 1/A 40 (Dort­mund-Barop) (näher zum Cam­pus Nord) und auf der A45 (Dort­mund-Eichlinghofen). An beiden Ausfahrten ist die Uni­ver­si­tät ausgeschildert. Im lokalen Straßennetz finden sich Wegweiser zum Cam­pus Nord, auf dem sich auch der Cam­pus Treff befindet. Von der Emil-Figge-Straße führt die Einfahrt Nr. 18 und vom Vogelspothsweg die Einfahrt Nr. 23 zu Parkplätzen in der Nähe des Veranstaltungsorts.

Vom Hauptbahnhof Dort­mund fährt auf Gleis 7 die S-Bahn „S1“ in Rich­tung Solingen bis zur Haltestelle „Dort­mund-Uni­ver­si­tät“ (Preisstufe A). Die S-Bahn fährt in der Hauptzeit an Werktagen im 15-Minuten-Takt und benötigt ca. 6 Minuten. Von Düsseldorf aus fährt die S-Bahn im 30-Minuten-Takt. Direkt an der S-Bahn-Station finden Sie das CDI-Ge­bäu­de, in dem sich das Institut für Schul­ent­wicklungs­forschung befindet.

Zu den Wahrzeichen der Uni­ver­si­tät gehört die H-Bahn, die auf dem Cam­pus-Nord zwei Endpunkte hat. Der eine befindet sich direkt über der S-Bahn-Station und ist von ihr bequem mit Aufzügen erreichbar. Der andere befindet sich im Zen­trum des Cam­pus Nord an der Brücke zwischen der Uni­ver­si­täts­bi­blio­thek und der Mensa, gleich neben dem Au­di­max. Die H-Bahn fährt von hier aus zum Cam­pus Süd und zum Stadtteil Eichlinghofen.

Dort­mund hat einen Flugplatz, der mit einigen Zielen in Mitteleuropa verbunden ist. Regelmäßige Flugverbindungen gibt es bei­spiels­weise nach Amsterdam, Berlin, Dresden, Katowice, Krakau, Leipzig-Halle, London, Mün­chen, Nürnberg, Paris, Posen, Stuttgart, Wien und Zürich. Für die rund 20 Ki­lo­me­ter vom Flugplatz Dort­mund zum Cam­pus kann man den Bus zum Hauptbahnhof und von dort die S-Bahn benutzen. Schneller ist in der Regel die Nutzung eines Taxis. Weitaus mehr in­ter­na­ti­o­na­le Flugverbindungen bietet der etwa 60 km entfernte Rhein-Ruhr-Flughafen in Düsseldorf, der direkt mit der S-Bahn vom Bahnhof der Uni­ver­si­tät zu erreichen ist.